Pho Real Club

Asian food club in the city of brotherly love

Rangoon July 8, 2010

Filed under: Burmese,Chinatown — phorealclub @ 6:45 pm

Everytime I come here, I can’t stop repeating Dr. Evil’s monologue from Austin Powers:
“Summers in Rangoon, luge lessons…In the spring we’d make meat helmets.”. F’amazing. The food here is pretty darn good too.

I succumbed to peer pressure and ordered the thousand layer bread and tea leaf salad, because EVERYONE on the Philly food blogs seemed to be doing it. The bread was tasty, but *very* greasy, and the tea leaf salad, while unique, didn’t blow me away. What did blow me away were the Rangoon Crab Meat Dumplings. I’m not one to order Crab Rangoon – I like to keep dairy out of my asian fare – and I was nervous about the grease factor post-thousand layer bread. But these were DELICIOUS. Delicate and wonderfully cooked, the inside had just the right amount of spice and cream cheese. This appetizer was the clear winner – go for it.

I ordered the jungle tofu as an entree. I had been craving green curry all day, but was weary that there would be too much coconut in the sauce. Rangoon did a really nice job – sauce was excellent, light and well seasoned, with a few peppers for kick. My dish could have had more veggies, but no complaints other than that. I also tried bites of the Spicy Rice Sticks and Burmese Cold Noodles (Let Thoke). The Rice Sticks are a carb lover’s heaven; the next time I’m craving noodles, I’m doing a face plant into a plate of these. Cold Noodles were good as well, but LOADED with either dried shrimp or shrimp paste – beware if you’re not a shrimp fan.

Rangoon is nice – it’s not as cheap as some other places in Chi-town, nor is it BYO, but it has a really interesting menu that I’m looking forward to exploring further!

Rangoon
112 N. 9th Street
Philadelphia, PA 19107
(215) 829-8929

 

One Response to “Rangoon”

  1. Katie Says:

    yum. I love cold noodles, especially in the summer.


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.